Mission San José title image


Photo by Gertrude Meyer

The San Antonio Missions

Photo by Gertrude Meyer, Edited by Pat Tyler


Here is the story, as told by the sign: The missions of San Antonio were far more than just churches, they were communities. Each was a fortified village, with its own church, farm and ranch. Here, Franciscan Friars gathered native peoples, converted them to Catholicism, taught them to live as Spaniards, and helped maintain Spanish control over the Texas frontier.

The Franciscans established six missions along the San Antonio River in the early 1700s. Five of them flourished and, with the Villa de San Fernando, became the foundation of the city of San Antonio. Today the missions are elegant reminders of the contribution of Indian and Hispanic peoples to the history of the United States.

Mission Concepción
Mission Concepción

The National Park Service maintains and preserves the mission sites through cooperative agreements with the Archdiocese of San Antonio and the state of Texas. The mission churches remain active centers of worship.

The Alamo was established in 1718 as Mission San Antonio de Valero. The Daughters of the Republic of Texas maintain this site as a memorial to Texas Independence.

Click any image above to advance to the next page,
or click the navigation buttons below to skip through the collection.